For the third consecutive year, Coach Scott Sandelin has been named as one of 10 finalists for the prestigious Spencer Penrose Award. The award is presented every year to the NCAA Division 1 Men's Hockey Coach of the Year.

Sandelin was nominated the last two years, and he has actually won the award once in 2004.  He was also a runner up seven years ago. Coach Sandelin has some impressive statistics over the years. His record overall is 367-311-87, and his playoff win percentage is the best among active head coaches (.760).

Other finalists this year include:

David Carle (Denver)
Greg Carvel (Massachusetts)
Mike Hastings (Minnesota State)
Casey Jones (Clarkson)
Eric Lang (American International)
Brett Larson (St. Cloud State)
Nate Leaman (Providence College)
Greg Powers (Arizona State)
Steve Rohlik (Ohio State)

The voting takes place ahead of next week's NCAA Frozen Four in Buffalo, with the award being presented on April 10th.  The Bulldogs first game in the Frozen Four is against Providence at 4pm on April 11th.

More From B105