Minnesota Wild rookie standout Kirill Kaprizov is the first player in team history to win the Calder Memorial Trophy.

The yearly award is given to the league's most productive rookie, and Kaprizov certainly met the criteria by leading the team and all other NHL rookies with 51 points in 55 games this season, the team says he "is one of four rookies since 1992-93 to lead a team in points during the regular season, while helping them qualify for the playoffs."

The 24-year-old Kaprizov was picked by the Wild in the fifth round (135th overall) in the 2015 NHL Entry Draft, and in 2020 he signed a two-year deal with the Wild after his deal with CSKA Moscow, a professional hockey club in his home country of Russia, expired.

B105 logo
Get our free mobile app

Kaprizov also was selected to the NHL All-Rookie Team, All-Star Team voting placed him fourth among left wings, and he got enough MVP votes to tie for fifteenth for the Hart Trophy.

This year's Calder Memorial Trophy was awarded to Kaprizov during the live broadcast of the NHL Awards at NHL.com, Kaprizov found out he was the winner when the 2008 winner of the same trophy Patrick Kane presented him as the 2021 winner, you can see the moment below. The award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

The Wild finished 3rd in the West this past year after getting bounced from the playoffs in the first round by the Las Vegas Knights, the Wild managed to go seven games against the Knights, but couldn't close the deal.


Ten Greatest Minnesota Wild Players

NFL Players With Famous Current And Former Wives And Girlfriends

The Best of Minnesota Sports Fans

Fans are back! Let's take a look at the BEST of Minnesota sports fandom.


More From B105