MINNEAPOLIS ­­— Let’s Play Hockey newspaper announced today the 12 finalists for the Reed Larson Award, which will be presented to the top senior boys’ high school hockey defenseman in Minnesota.

In alphabetical order, here are the 12 finalists for the 2013 Reed Larson Award (statistics through games of Feb. 27):

FinalistSchoolGPGATPCollege Commit
Jake BischoffGrand Rapids1871522Minnesota
Ryan BittnerCrookston27172845
Tony BretzmanSt. Thomas Academy2752025
Chris ForneyThief River Falls2792332
Matt KochHastings2661723Air Force
Meirs MooreDuluth East27182947
Matt NelsonEdina2741418 Princeton
Tanner OkesonRoseau27132437
Parker RenoEdina2821919RPI
Jimmy SchuldtMinnetonka2752328St. Cloud State
Tommy VannelliMinnetonka27102535Minnesota
Jake ZeleznikarHermantown27113445


The finalists have scored an average of nine goals and 22 assists this season for their respective teams. All 10 players have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.46.

The winner of the inaugural Reed Larson Award will be announced on Tuesday, March 5. The award will be presented at the Class AA State Tournament Banquet on Wednesday, March 6 at the Roy Wilkins Auditorium.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Reed Larson Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability.


-- LPH --

More From B105