I was chatting with some fellow dads the other day about how the trees in our neighborhood are holding their leaves longer than usual. Minnesota's fall colors used to peak in late September, but because of climate change, they now peak in mid-October, so leaves fall several weeks later than they used to.

Most trees should be bare within a week or two, giving everyone enough time to get them cleaned up before it gets too cold. But be mindful of Minnesota's leaf laws; violating them could lead to a big fine or even jail time.

B105 logo
Get our free mobile app

The “Minnesota Nice” thing to do is rake or mow the leaves as soon as possible to prevent leaves from blowing into your neighbor's yard, but you don't have to get every single leaf.

The University of Wisconsin says it’s perfectly fine to leave some fallen leaves on your lawn because they contain nutrients that can actually help your grass. However, they also warn that a thick layer of leaves can smother the grass and harm your yard.

moodboard
moodboard

To get the most benefit, skip the rake and mow over the leaves instead. Chopping them into smaller pieces helps them settle into the grass, where they’ll break down and feed your lawn next spring.

Fall Cleanup Reminder: Minnesota Leaf Law Violators Face $1K Fine

sakkmesterke
sakkmesterke

If you are raking or have leftover debris after mowing, you should know it is illegal to throw yard waste in the trash.

Minnesota state law (Minn. Stat. § 115A.931) says this includes leaves, grass clippings, weeds, shrubs, and branches. But that’s not the only rule to keep in mind; there’s another law that could cost you up to $1,000 or even land you in jail if you break it.

Breaking This Minnesota Leaf Law Can Cost You $1,000

Taras Lazur
Taras Lazur

Burning leaves without a permit is considered a misdemeanor and can lead to a fine of up to $1,000, up to 90 days in jail, or both.

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources recommends composting your leaves and yard waste instead of burning them. You can burn dry leaves, branches, and untreated wood, but if you don't follow the rules, you could get in some serious trouble.

The $1,000 Backyard Mistake: 11 Things You Are Legally Banned From Burning in Minnesota

Think you can burn anything in your backyard? Think again. Under Minnesota Statute § 88.171, the state has a strict rules on burning.

If you get caught throwing the wrong thing into your fire pit, you could be charged with a misdemeanor and be penalized with up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. 

Gallery Credit: Troy Dunken

11 Minnesota Winter Laws and Rules to Remember to Avoid Costly Fines

Minnesota winters bring unique challenges, and with them come specific laws and rules designed to keep everyone safe and the season running smoothly. Check them out so your winter doesn’t become more chaotic or expensive than it needs to be.

Gallery Credit: Minnesota Now

More From B105