Just days from his last day of his term, President Donald Trump was impeached by the U.S. House of Representatives for the second time in his term, becoming the first president in American history to ever be impeached twice.

The House vote was on a single article of impeachment, which charges that President Trump incited the events at the Capitol last week that led to damage to the building, evacuations of members of Congress, and a number of injuries and a few deaths. In that vote among members of the House of Representatives, all of Minnesota's 8 and Wisconsin's 8 congresspeople cast votes on the the resolution of whether or not to impeach President Trump and pass the case to the Senate.

Following Wednesday's vote to impeach, the next step is for the House to formally hand the case to the Senate for trial to convict on the charge placed by the impeachment. As of the time of publishing of this post, there is no clear date of when this could happen. Senate leadership have signaled they don't intend to take the case on until at least after Joe Biden's inauguration next week, but it is possible the process could get started in the Senate prior to that point. Alternatively, there is debate among political pundits that there could be a delay to the Senate trial until later in the year.

All 16 of the two states' members of the House of Representatives voted along party lines; with Democrats voting in favor of impeachment and Republicans voting against the measure. This included both Minnesota 8th District's Pete Stauber and Wisconsin 7th District's Tom Tiffany, who both voted 'nay' on impeachment.

Here is a breakdown of the full vote from Minnesota and Wisconsin's representation:

B105 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Minnesota (4 Republican, 4 Democrat Representatives)

  • 1st District - Jim Hagedorn (R): Nay
  • 2nd District - Angie Craig (D): Yea
  • 3rd District - Dean Phillips (D): Yea
  • 4th District - Betty McCollum (D): Yea
  • 5th District - Ilhan Omar (D): Yea
  • 6th District - Tom Emmer (R): Nay
  • 7th District - Michelle Fischbach (R): Nay
  • 8th District - Pete Stauber (R): Nay

Wisconsin (5 Republican, 3 Democrat Representatives)

  • 1st District - Bryan Steil (R): Nay
  • 2nd District - Mark Pocan (D): Yea
  • 3rd District - Ron Kind (D): Yea
  • 4th District - Gwen Moore (D): Yea
  • 5th District - Scott Fitzgerald (R): Nay
  • 6th District - Glenn Grothman (R): Nay
  • 7th District - Thomas Tiffany (R): Nay
  • 8th District - Mike Gallagher (R): Nay

The measure passed with 232 members voting in favor of impeachment, 197 voting against, and 4 not voting. While the vote was largely along party lines, 10 Republicans did vote in favor of impeachment. Those members include Adam Kinzinger of Illinois, Liz Cheney of Wyoming, John Katko of New York, Fred Upton of Michigan, Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington, Dan Newhouse of Washington, Peter Meijer of Michigan, Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio, Tom Rice of South Carolina, and David Valadao of California.

The first impeachment of President Trump, in 2019, included two articles. The first article passed 230-197 with 1 "present" vote and 3 non-votes. The second article passed 229-198 with 1 "present" vote and 3 non-votes. No Republicans voted in favor of either article in Trump's first impeachment.

PHOTOS: Scene at U.S. Capitol shows chaos and violence

More From B105