Boating season will be here soon and the Minnesota DNR says that anyone who plans on operating a boat needs to take the time to get educated on operational and safety rules and regulations.  

Boaters have multiple options from classroom courses offered by the Coast Guard Auxiliary and United States Power Squadrons to online courses.

According to U.S. Coast Guard statistics, 80 percent of boating deaths occurred on boats where the boat operator had never received boating education.

Minnesota requires anyone ages 12 to 17 years old, unsupervised and operating a boat over 25 horsepower to have a safety certificate. A safety certificate is also needed for anyone ages 14 to 17 and operating a personal watercraft unsupervised.

Wisconsin law states that anyone born on or after January 1, 1989 is required to complete a boating safety course to legally operate a motorized boat or personal watercraft on Wisconsin waters.

Regardless of age, taking time brush up on rules and regulations is always a great idea.  Click the links below to get complete information for Minnesota and Wisconsin and see available courses.

More From B105