The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has begun spring burning restrictions across the state due to warmer temperatures and dry conditions.

According to the Minnesota DNR, open burning is now restricted in the following counties:

  • Anoka,
  • Beltrami (north)
  • Benton
  • Chisago
  • Clay
  • Douglas
  • Grant
  • Hennepin
  • Isanti
  • Kanabec
  • Kittson
  • Lake of the Woods
  • Marshall
  • Mille Lacs
  • Morrison
  • Norman
  • Otter Tail
  • Pennington
  • Pine
  • Pope
  • Ramsey
  • Roseau
  • Sherburne
  • Stearns
  • Stevens
  • Todd
  • Traverse
  • Wadena
  • Wilkin
  • Wright.

The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until this ban is lifted.

As weather conditions change, expect burning restrictions to be added for additional counties across the state.  Play it safe and follow the link below to check on current Minnesota fire risks and burning restrictions.

Remember, if you burn debris and your fire escapes and burns other property, you can be held financially responsible.

More From B105