In the fog, the wind and the cold, Grandma’s Marathon weekend kicked off tonight with the William A. Irvin 5K ― the first of three races scheduled for the 38th annual event.

Duluth’s Scott Behling, 24, won the 3.1-mile race in a time of 15 minutes and 19 seconds. Behling held off Nate Hoffman, of South Haven, Minn., by three seconds. The victory was the third for Behling, who also won in 2010 (16:39) and 2011 (15:49).

In the women’s division, St. Paul’s Carrie Tollefson took the title in 18:36. The 2004 Olympian crossed the finish line side-by-side with fellow St. Paul runner Angie Voight. Tollefson also won the race in 2010.

A record 2,029 registered for the event with an unofficial 1,783 finishing the race. For complete results, visit

Also, the 24th annual Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon and 38th annual Grandma’s Marathon are tomorrow at 6:15 a.m. and 7:45 a.m., respectively. A record field of 8,498 is registered for the half marathon, while 7,964 are signed up for the full marathon.

June 20, 2014 – 21st Annual William A. Irvin 5K – Results

 Top Ten Men

Name Age City State Time

Scott Behling 24 Duluth MN 15:19
Nate Hoffman 31 South Haven MN 15:22
Dominique Aulagnon 20 Thunder Bay 15:30
Grant Pulver 18 Chippewa Falls WI 16:14
Blake Anderson 18 Sartell MN 16:27
Sam Johnson 18 Aurora MN 17:09
Alan Evans 51 Beaver Dams NY 17:11
Jordan Bringgold 17 Roberts WI 17:29
Brian St.George 38 Mountain Iron MN 17:35
Alex Wischnack 16 Norwood Young America MN 17:55

Top Ten Women

Name Age City State Time

Carrie Tollefson 37 St Paul MN 18:36
Angie Voight 37 St Paul MN 18:36
Jaclyn Rollins 22 Thunder Bay 19:19
Jordan Paschke 20 Chanhassen MN 19:42
Michelle Ostien 27 Mora MN 20:10
Elizabeth Schlafke 16 Annandale MN 20:09
Elise Longley 15 Bloomington MN 20:12
Rachel Norby 35 Mora MN 20:27
Lauren McCollor 10 Plymouth MN 20:43
Natasha Frank 21 Thunder Bay 21:04